Thursday, August 25, 2016

Atrium Carceri : Metropolis [2015]

ARTIST.... Atrium Carceri
TITLE....... Metropolis
STYLE...... Dark Ambient, Industrial
LABEL...... Cryo Chamber
QUALITY..... 320kbps / Joint-Stereo
COUNTRY... Sweden
1     The Gargantuan Tower             3:18
2     The Dark Mother                      4:40
3     Across The Sea Of The Dead     7:08
4     Black Needle                            5:08
5     Decrepit City                            3:44
6     Sacred Slab                             3:21
7     200 Days                                 5:27
8     Industrial District                     4:34
9     Heart Of The Metropolis            3:25
10   The Cowled Seers                     5:03
11   The Machine                            6:37
"We've been trapped for too long. Trapped inside this machine. The ancient Metropolis. It appears to control us." 

Thus begins the afflictive tale of "Metropolis", the 11th full-length offering of master sonic storyteller Simon Heath, recording as Atrium Carceri. Stepping away somewhat from the archetypal approach to dark ambient music, Heath has created a concept album comprised of rich and grandiose soundscapes which are busier and more stratified than some of the more typical ambient compositions. Incidentally, the average track length on Metropolis is approximately four minutes, which allows for more fluid inter-thematic movement and deeper immersion. 

The dark brilliance of "Metropolis" lies in the ease with which its palatial presence communicates the themes of its tracks to the listener. Here, Heath invites us to go on a perilous journey through Metropolis - a languishing prison city draped in fog and forgotten by God himself; and as the listener explores the city's crepuscular terrain, unnervingly lucid images of this colourless and oppressive macrocosm bombard their mind's eye.  

Power Noise | Power Electronics | Martial Industrial | Dark Ambient | Industrial Ambient